tirsdag den 25. oktober 2011

Official - NEW album released on Mighty Music

"The long awaited debut album from the Danish metal band NUMBNUTS which among others counts singer Esse (HateSphere, ex. As We Fight). Thrash with roots buried deep in a rock ’n’ roll kind of hardcore. Expect a serious beating!

In spite of more than ten years of detours NUMBNUTS is now ready with a masterpiece of a debut album with the peculiar title Smokey the Salmon and the Horny Mermaids of Detention.

The lyrical aspects on the album contain nine different stories that all together engender in a tribute to the ‘minstrel’. Compared to the general ‘metal lyric’ that often emerges from random ‘cool’ words put together with total lack of meaning, this album seeks to reach a new length throughout a well considered wordplay.

Amongst others you will find a cover version of Dire Straits’ Sultans of Swing on the album, where Henrik Heinz Jacobsen (Koldborn, ex- HateSphere) delivers an amazing and stirring guitar performance. Smokey the Salmon and the Horny Mermaids of Detention furthermore features Martin O$ Olsen (As We Fight, Koldborn) and Mona DeMona Mattle (ex-Gabriel Is Bleeding).

‘Less is more’ has been the byword throughout the making of Smokey the Salmon and the Horny Mermaids of Detention, and it’s obvious that the five guys master the simplicity of the genre to perfection. A record that is best described as an elegant and melodic combination of metalpunkhardrockcore. Altogether the record at hand is a stirring piece which favors no genre over another! v The record is mixed, mastered and produced by Jacob Olsen (The Setup, Crocell) at JBO Sound. Cover artwork is done by Nicolei Martin Aagaard Rasmussen from Pixed. This great cooperation has given NUMBNUTS the ultimate finish of the album."